Indian Affairs | Division of Law Enforcement

Division of Law Enforcement


The Division of Operations consists of six regional Districts with 208 Bureau and tribal law enforcement programs. Of the 208 programs, 43 are operated by the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

The operations division consists of telecommunications, uniform police and criminal investigations. Headquartered in Albuquerque, New Mexico, the District offices are located in Aberdeen, South Dakota (District I); Muskogee, Oklahoma (District II); Phoenix, Arizona (District III); Albuquerque, New Mexico (District IV); Billings, Montana (District V); and Nashville, Tennessee (District IV).

Along with providing direct oversight of Bureau programs, the operations division also provides technical assistance and some oversight to law enforcement programs contracted or compacted by tribes under Self-Determination and Self-Government Policy.