

Indian Affairs - Office of Public Affairs

Media Contact: Waindel (202) 343-4214 For Immediate Release: May 5, 1972

Print PDF

A Northeast Region Advisory Committie appointed by Secretary of the Interior Rogers C. B. Morton on April 24, is the first of the public advisory bodies to be named for each of the six regions of the National Park Service.

"This group of interested private citizens, and those to be appointed for five other National Park System regions, will provide for a free exchange of ideas between the National Park Service and the public on current problems and programs," Secretary Morton said.

Secretary Morton announced the following committee to work with Chester L. Brooks, director of the Service's Northeast Region: Lewis W. Jones, Bloomington, Ill.; Fred D. Hartley, Kenosha, Wis., and Frederick R. Micha, Ontario, N. Y., three year appointments; Dr. Graham Netting, Pittsburgh, Pa.; Norman G. Duke, Lorain, Oh., and Ralph MacMullen, Lansing, Mich., two years; William L. Lieber, Indianapolis, Ind.; Charles H. W. Foster, Needham, Mass., and Hyman J. Cohen, Arlington, Va., one year. Though subsequent appointments are expected to be for three years, the initial teams, chosen by lot, were staggered to provide for an annual rotation of membership in the future.

While many individual parks have their own advisory groups, Secretary Morton pointed out that regional advisory committee activities will be concerned with the many natural, historical and recreational areas within entire regions.

Under the General Authorities Law of 1970, the Secretary of the Interior is authorized to "appoint and establish such advisory committees in regard to the functions of the National Park Service as he may deem advisable" Each committee will consist of nine public members appointed by the Secretary.

The National Park Service's Northeast Region is headquartered at Philadelphia and includes 19 States: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, New York, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin and Minnesota.

https://www.bia.gov/as-ia/opa/online-press-release/northeast-region-advisory-unit-first-national-park-service